Our Trustees

Emeriti Trustees

Arnold O. Beckman, Ph.D. (In Memoriam)     Joan Irvine Smith (In Memoriam)

Donald Bren                                                     Ted Smith

Thomas H. Nielsen                                          Thomas T. Tierney

Martha A. Newkirk ’72, M.A. ’76, Ph.D. ’81


The Honorable Dick Ackerman
Attorney at Law | State Senator (Ret.)
Ackerman Consulting

Duraid S. Antone
Vice President of Sales – North America CathWorks

Philip K. Anthony, Ph.D.
Managing Partner, The CoreGroup

Pamina E. Barkow ’03, MBA ’16
CEO & Co-Founder, PI Medical Partners
Orange County Pain Management

Steven M. Borowski ’79
President, Aristotle Capital Mgmt.

Amer A. Boukai ’87
President, Continental Food Mgmt.

Richard K. Bridgford, Esq.
Partner, Bridgford, Gleason & Artinian

Jane Buchan, Ph.D.
CEO, Martlet Asset Mgmt.

Paul E. Butterworth ’81

Mary K. Carrington, Esq.
Attorney at Law

Hazem H. Chehabi, M.D.
Owner & President
Newport Diagnostic Center

Salma A. Chehabi ’99, ’09, M.S. ’13
Genetic Counselor

Carol J. Choi ’85
Founder, United Exchange Corporation

Eugene W. Choi ’86, MBA ’01
President & CEO
United Exchange Corporation

D. Robinson Cluck ’78
Chairman & Co-Founder
Canterbury Consulting

Kate W. Duchene, J.D.
President & CEO
Resources Global Professionals

Lucy Dunn
President & CEO (Ret.)
Orange County Business Council

The Honorable Joseph L. Dunn
Senator (Ret.) & Consultant 

John R. Evans
Regional Managing Director (Ret.)
Wells Fargo Bank

Douglas K. Freeman, J.D.
Executive Chair & CEO
OC Music & Dance

Jennifer Friend Smith ’95, J.D.
CEO, Project Hope Alliance 

John D. Gerace ’87
Calabri Biosciences, LLC

Howard Gillman
Chancellor, UCI 

Terry D. Godfrey ’86
Chief Financial and Administrative Officer
Learning Policy Institute


Oscar Gonzalez
Co-President, Northgate Markets

Denise Hall, J.D.
Retired Attorney

Brian T. Hervey, CGPP, CFRE
Vice Chancellor, University Advancement
& Alumni Relations, UCI
(Foundation President)

Julie Hill
Corporate Director, Anthem
Lord Abbett Mutual Funds 

Gary H. Hunt
Partner, California Strategies, LLC

Hans Imhof
Partner, K5 Ventures

Sandra J. Jackson
Co-Founder, Samueli Academy

Anthony K. Jones
Senior Executive Vice President of Operations (Ret.)
CommonSpirit Health

Frank Jao
Founder, Chairman & CEO
Bridgecreek Group, Inc. 

Elim Kay
Managing Partner, LOK 360 CO., LTD.

Steeve T. Kay
Chairman, The Kay Family Foundation

Yang-Uk Kim
Founder, The Kim Yang Group

Dulcie A. Kugelman
President & CEO, Kugelman Family Foundation

Jack M. Langson
President, Investment Building Group

Shanaz S. Langson
Investment Building Group

Mohannad S. Malas
Principal, IRA Capital

Twyla Reed Martin
President, Mont Pelerin Capital LLC
President, Charles D. & Twyla Martin Fdn. 

Farzad Massoudi ’84, M.D.
Neurosurgery Specialist
Mission Hospital – Mission Viejo

James V. Mazzo
Executive Chairman, Neurotech, LLC 

Paul Merage
Chairman, MIG Capital

Shawn R. Miller, J.D.
CEO & Founder, Archwest Capital

Marci Lerner Miller, J.D.
Partner, Potomac Law Group, PLLC

Kristen S. Monson ’82, MBA ’86
Executive Vice President (Ret.)
Pacific Investment Mgmt. Co.

Michael A. Mussallem
Chairman of the Board
Edwards Lifesciences LLC

Stacey Nicholas

Eloy Ortiz Oakley ’96, MBA ’99
President & CEO
College Futures Foundation

Greg Palmer
Chairman & CEO
Supplemental Healthcare

Stephen Peepels
General Counsel & Chief Legal Officer
Mantra Finance and Soma Finance

James J. Peterson
Chair and Founder, Mobix Labs, Inc.

Sheila K. Peterson
President, Beachside Books LLC

William F. Podlich
CEO (Ret.), Pacific Investment Mgmt. Co.

Justice Sheila Prell Sonenshine (Ret.)
JAMS Neutral

Robert E. Romney, M.S. ’83
Entrepreneur, Investor, and Philanthropist

Cheryll R. Ruszat
Executive Director
Montessori Schools of Irvine

Richard J. Ruszat
President, Montessori Schools of Irvine

Kathleen R. Santora

Mark K. Santora
Chairman of the Board (Ret.),

Michael Schulman
Managing Director
H&S Ventures, LLC

Gary J. Singer, Esq. ’74 | Foundation Chair
Retired Partner, O’Melveny & Myers LLP

Ruben A. Smith
Partner, Frost Brown Todd LLP

Hal S. Stern, Ph.D.
Provost & Executive Vice Chancellor, UCI 

Timothy L. Strader Sr.
Chairman, Starpointe Ventures

Marilyn P. Sutton, Ph.D.
Consultant, Public Policy & Higher Education

James Irvine Swinden
Museum President, The Irvine Museum

David L. Tsoong, M.D.
Chairman & President
Pinnacle Resources International, Inc.

The Honorable Gaddi H. Vasquez
U.S. Ambassador (Ret.)
Sr. VP of Government Affairs, Edison Int’l & Southern California Edison (Ret.)

Dean A. Yoost
Author & Board Member
Pacific Life Insurance Co.


Ex-Officio Trustees

Peter J. Fischler ’80
Managing Director, DF1 Trading
(School of Social Ecology)

Steve A.N. Goldstein, M.A., M.D., Ph.D., F.A.A.P.
Vice Chancellor, Health Affairs

Susan K. Hori, Esq.
Manatt, Phelps & Philips, LLP

Land Use Partner and OC Administrative Partner
(Claire Trevor School of the Arts)

Sam Jilanchi ’94
Managing Partner, Qwan Companies
(School of Humanities)

Timothy A. Kashani ’86, MBA ’88
CEO, IT Mentors, Inc.
(Donald Bren School of ICS)

Tiffany Ana Lopez, Ph.D.
Dean, Claire Trevor School of the Arts

William M. Maurer, Ph.D.
Dean, School of Social Sciences

Mary Lou Ortiz
CFO & Vice Chancellor, Division of Finance and Administration

Arvind Rajaraman, Ph.D.
Chair, Academic Senate
Professor, Physics & Astronomy


Derek A. Sabori ’95, MBA ’02
Co-Founder, KOZM
(UCI Alumni Association President)

Peter Trepp ’88
CEO, InnoPath Therapeutics
(School of Social Sciences)

Vicki Vasques ’81
Owner & Chairwoman, Tribal Tech, LLC
(School of Education)

Lars T. Walton, Ed.D.
Associate Chancellor &
Chief of Staff, UCI 


Executive Committee

Gary Singer ’74 | Chair

Howard Gillman, Ph.D.

Hal S. Stern, Ph.D.

Lars T. Walton, Ed.D.

Brian T. Hervey, CGPP, CFRE

Jackie M. Barbera

Shante Carter, MBA ’23


Duraid S. Antone

D. Robinson (Bob) Cluck ’78
Chair – Investment & Finance

Jennifer Friend Smith ’95, J.D.

Julie Hill
Chair – Nomination & Governance

James V. Mazzo
Co-Chair – Engagement & Stewardship


Stacey Nicholas
Co-Chair – Engagement & Stewardship

James J. Peterson
Co-Chair – Brilliant Future: The Campaign for UCI

Mark K. Santora

Marilyn P. Sutton, Ph.D.

Dean A. Yoost
Chair – Audit